history is such a blur

03Jan08

In my course of work, I have had to deal with a lot of cross-checking on historical facts and I really appreciate the people who actually reference their work. It goes to show that you really have done your background work and I can trust what you say. One would be amazed to find how much information out there is practically junk and could be half-truths or even lies!

Thus, the importance of “primary” sources that are as good as facts from the people who were really involved. Even so, one has to worry about biasness, is the source hiding something? At the end of the day, I find myself asking, how much of things out there can we actually believe and take as fact? Very little indeed.

Only the paranoid survive.

As my project involves Singapore history, I’ve also realised that there are certain periods of time where information was sketchy like during the colonial era and there really isn’t a culture of documenting even up to today. It seems Singaporeans live in the present and the future, but ignore their past. The only time we bother is when we celebrate anniversaries and in the process realise we’ve lost so much.

I’ll say there are a lot of stories out there, if only we bother to spend time looking for them and at them. Ironically, I’ve spent so much time and energy on this project, I’ve practically locked myself up in this time capsule only to emerge months later realising the future has past me by.

No Responses Yet to “history is such a blur”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

