A growing love for magazines

06Jan08

I realised in the past few months I’ve acquired myself a stack of magazines, namely GOOD, Monocle, Lexean and now AsianGEOgraphic.

This issue of AsianGEOgraphic (left) really captured my attention, it’s actually their photo annual. I’ve done a project profiling the company and its magazine before and although I love their photos, I always thought they were too scattered to really make me want to buy it. This issue blew me away with their concept, their tagline is actually “asia without borders”, so for them to go black and white in this issue and call it “asia without colours” was just brilliant.

I haven’t had the time to really read it too much yet, but some of the stories seem to depict a sense of loss that I would associate with black and white film. Maybe I’ll rave about it more when I actually get the time to read it. Work life can be so busy.

On the other hand, Monocle (right) was actually quite disappointing. I think this The Magazineer’s review of it actually sums up what I feel (For that fan of WIRED magazine, the website actually slams it). Basically, the magazine promises more than it can deliver and turns out to be more fluff than intellect. I love the size, the paper quality and the design organisation but when I read it I just don’t feel any smarter or challenged. The biggest irk for me is how advertising and editorial seem to blur so much that at one point I did not realise I was reading an advertorial!

I think I described the feel of the magazine to a friend as “Zara-like” (a Spanish brand of clothing) — sleek, sharp and business-like. It turns out that this magazine was started by Tyler Brûlé, who also founded Wallpaper* magazine.

Well, it seems for now I’m sticking with subscription with GOOD and Lexean. The former’s a hippie magazine that mixes sub-culture, good design and intellectual content, while the latter’s really a intellectual magazine with one-of-a-kind graphics targeted at mature executives. I really hope they bring GOOD to Singapore soon, the latest issue came to me from a local company, WMG Pte Ltd, instead of being mailed directly from the USA, so I think it’s a sign that it will be hitting our shores soon.

2 Responses to “A growing love for magazines”

  1. 1 s.

    yeah, i tend to skip heaps of pages in WIRED coz of the ads, annoying! but no other magazines publish the kind of articles they do where they mix tech and culture, i think that’s where they’ve kinda won me over so far ;). in other news, Kathmandu doesn’t sell WIRED at all!

  2. 2 j.z.

    Hey, you appear in the weirdest of places… Would you need a “Singapore” subscription of WIRED then? Heh, of course I’ll offer to read it first.


Leave a Reply

